Thursday Link: Sheng Nu Like You

Thanks Essay for this link.

Somehow, in spite of the fact that there are 30 million more men in China than women, there are still loads of single women nearing 30. (Take that, NASI 10% statistics.) It’s a global epidemic!

On the bright side, now I know the truth: I’m not over the hill. I’m sheng nu. As the Chinese gov’t puts it:

These girls hope to further their education in order to increase their competitiveness. The tragedy is, they don’t realise that as women age, they are worth less and less. So by the time they get their MA or PhD, they are already old – like yellowed pearls.

Ouch.

2 thoughts on “Thursday Link: Sheng Nu Like You

  1. I had one Chinese-American colleague who described the Chinese New Year custom in which family/friends give red envelopes to the singles. She was single and in her 30s and loved the New-Year pay days.

    When another of my Chinese-American coworkers mentioned his family’s New Year celebrations, I asked him about it and how much money he would be out (he’s married and about 30)… He laughed and said that the custom is that after one (a single) says the traditional New Year greeting, you respond with a greeting and hand them the cash-filled red envelope. He told me “I think that only giving it to the unmarried people was supposed to shame them.” He also told me that most of the Chinese think that the custom is for one to give money to those younger than them (mainly children). “Luckily my cousins – who are older than me, but not yet married – are under that impression, so it won’t be such an expensive holiday.”

Leave a Reply

