Friday Repost: Snark in the House

From the archives: someone asked me if I’m feeling the pressure to get married now that my sister is wedded off.  My response was a tad… laden with verbal irony.

The truth is, I’m just thick when it comes to social cues. It’s very possible that people have been exerting truckloads of pressure, and I forgot to notice it. I didn’t feel friendless in 9th grade until the teacher kept harping on how normal it was to feel friendless and we all had to try to be friendlier. Then I started wondering, “Am I friendless?” Until then I was doing fine.

Asking me if I’m feeling pressure has the same effect. I dunno… am I feeling pressure? Let me check. Oh whoa! Is that pressure?

And then the whole can of worms opens up.

So please don’t ask me stuff like that.

Leave a Reply

