You Can Have My Nephew

I meet NMF #7, her mini-me, and mindy at Bonkers to do some catching up. (“My how you’ve grown since I last saw you.” “Gee thanks.”) Afterwards we go pick up a mended bracelet from a gift shop for the NMF. (Really I think she’s an MF by now, but since she’s co-opted the title for her blogger name, she’s going to remain in shana rishona forever.)

Naturally, we struck up a conversation and naturally it turned to aliya, and the woman said she had an American nephew who was in yeshiva now and wanted to stay in Israel, and I said that was typical – doesn’t everyone fall in love with Israel? And doesn’t everyone say they want to live there? And doesn’t everyone subsequently go back to the USA and develop a myriad reasons why they can’t make the leap?

Which, naturally, brought everyone round to staring at me, since I was the only person in the shop who didn’t actually live in Israel.
“You can have my nephew,” the storekeeper offered. “He’s learning in the Mir.”

Sounds like every other guy I go out with.

I handed her a ridiculously priced postcard, automatically asking for a discount and was automatically refused as easy, American, prey. But in with the postcard she slipped a business card with her nephews name, some details, and a phone number.

And here’s the best part: she’s the third person to try to set me up since I landed.

Matchmaking is the national sport, eh? I can see it.

16 thoughts on “You Can Have My Nephew

  1. Hey, family friend, single, high 30’s, moves to Israel, married in record time. Must be something Biblical . . .

  2. I was hoping to meet you in the old city but I didn’t think you would have a sign around your neck that said “I am bad for shidduchim.”

  3. Heh, that was too funny an experience. I could be the shadchan, if you like.
    But I’ve been informed that Shana Rishona nowadays lasts 10-15 years, so I’m still NMF.
    Good to see you.

  4. So, if you have a kid 9 months after marriage, goodbye newlywed?
    Oh, and the rebbitzen who informed me of the 10-15 year limit has 7. What should I tell her?

  5. if you have a kid 9 months after marriage

    Um, excuse my correction-
    but you mean after 9 months of marriage , don’t you?
    9 months after the wedding’s over- not 9 months after the marriage is over….

  6. Ur just not a newlywed with as much time to devote to your husband after you have a kid. Kids take up a lot of time. So yah, shana rishona ends when you have a kid.

  7. Um, even as a newlywed I didn’t ‘devote’ all my time to my husband. I don’t see why having a kid in the middle of shana rishona should end it 9 months after getting married.

  8. Oh, and does that mean that all families who have a kid within their first year of marriage- all the halachos of shana rishona don’t apply either? According to your logic at least, if shana rishona is only defined by how much time you have available to spend with your spouse.

  9. as much time is not “all my time”. once you have a child you have less time to devote (or if you dislike that word to spend) with your husband

    the point of shana rishona is it’s a time period to adjust to being married. the halachos (eg men not having to go to war) is so couples can become a cohesive unit. all the more so you should follow them in the first year when you have a child and therefore less time to spend together.

    when i say shana rishona ends i don’t mean halachoswise i mean the feeling of shana rishona. you just can’t have the same kind of relationship when you have a kid.

    btw, i’m not saying thats a bad thing…

Leave a Reply

