Food Foibles (2)

As I’ve previously mentioned, I date many guys who have issues with food. And I feel that I may lack empathy for them due to not having a lot of food hangups myself, which could be a turnoff. (“You mean you won’t touch anything speckled? Even cookies n’ cream ice cream?” Incredulous raise of eyebrows.) So I have studiously searched for a food neurosis for myself. It took quite a bit of effort, but I’ve found a few things.

1 – chocolate covered jelly rings.

2 – anything that’s got fruit-flavored goop in the center surrounded by too-sweet dark chocolate. (Not to be mixed up with [1], in which the center is not goop.)

3 – mint patties. Truth is, I haven’t tried one in ages, because I rarely come across them. I don’t mind mint gum and toothpaste and mouthwash; maybe with all that unswallowable mint in my life, it’s just conceptually difficult to get the peristalsis going.

4 – cheez curls. I remember my friend used to bring them for snack all the time in elementary school, and I was always turned off by the smell. Her snack was safe from me, those days. And ever since we went to different high schools I haven’t seen a single cheez curl out of the supermarket, so while I have no idea if I like them or not, it’s safe to say that I don’t, since I’m unlikely to be tested.

So next time my date talks about the ickiness of orange vegetables, I’m going to concentrate very hard on not liking cheez curls so I can nod sympathetically. “Yeah, I know what you mean. I don’t like orange cheez curls, myself.” If I’m lucky, he’ll go, “What? You don’t like cheez curls? What’s wrong with you? This shadchan can’t ever get it right! Let’s go home.”

23 thoughts on “Food Foibles (2)

  1. maybe with all that unswallowable mint in my life, it’s just conceptually difficult to get the peristalsis going.

    love that word.

  2. If I’m lucky, he’ll go, “What? You don’t like cheez curls? What’s wrong with you? This shadchan can’t ever get it right! Let’s go home.”

    I feel like I’m missing something. If ending the date and going home (alone) is lucky, why even accept dates?

  3. Thanks for this.

    I’ve always thought I didn’t have any food hangups either, until you listed the jelly rings! Right up there with those are the chocolate covered jelly and marshmallow thingies. Who’da thought they could make MARSHMALLOWS taste nasty??!?

    Can’t agree with you on the mint patties (those are a taste you grow into… try them again) or the cheese curls (finger lickin’ good) though……

  4. Keels,

    Talking about orange vegetables doesn’t mean he’s making a big deal about them.

    Even if he were making a big deal about them, I’m sure it will not be their main topic of conversation. Everyone has their quirks. If you are looking for someone who has no quirks, you’ll look forever. And, even if, hypothetically, you did find him, you’d probably find him boring.

    Dating is supposed to be fun. Try to enjoy it.

  5. I don’t see what the big deal is about food, people have different tastes, would you really not want to date someone b/c they didn’t like the same food as you? #1 and #2 are gross, #3 is good if they’re really small bite sized ones and #4 taste is ok but smelly and messy.

  6. Those aren’t hangups; they are specific items that you don’t like because they’re disgusting. I especially dislike the jelly rings – they’re simply not good. They’re not irrational food hangups like “I won’t eat anything where I can’t see the original food.”

  7. 1-Yes, those are gross. And they smell weird too.

    2 – “anything that’s got fruit-flavored goop in the center surrounded by too-sweet dark chocolate.” I especially hate the too-sweet dark chacolate part. It’s dark for a reason, you know.

    3 – “mint patties.” Nah, I like these.

    4 – “cheez curls.” What’s the matter with cheese curls?

  8. the guy will pretty much think ur insane lol but go ahead and no one really likes any of that stuff!!! ewwwwwwwww
    food hang ups is more like ” i hate squishy vegetables- anything that has to much liquid ie TOMATOES, cucumbers…”
    or if you dislike smelly veges ie onions, garlic…..

  9. As they say: “You can’t argue with taste or smell.” Bad4, imagine this scenario: You mention on the date that you don’t like cheese curls. Guy says, “Really? You don’t by any chance happen to be badforshidduchim??”

  10. You want a guy who will then tell you casually that most of what we think of as taste is actually smell. And then you don’t go home early.

  11. I give a resounding YUCK on the jelly rings. They remind me of Pesach dessert.

    Food foibles can defnitely be strange but there are other things I find a lot stranger. I once went out with a guy who says he sleeps with a fan all year round because the noise soothes him. I wouldn’t reject the idea of another date with him because of such a thing but it really made me wonder…how do people develop these quirks?

  12. to comment 15 S- yeah, bad4, has that ever happened to you? Because I keep meeting people at shabbos meals or wherever and when i happen to mention your blog, a lot of the time they’ve heard of it already. I’m just curious, what effect blogging is having on your real life, if you feel like posting on that.

    and this was a great post, not least because it made me look up the word peristalsis. I hate zucchini, that count as a food hangup? I’m not sure hating things with dark chocolate will help you much with developing empathy…good luck with that.

  13. The fan “quirk” is pretty common. There are two ways I’ve seen it develop.
    1. Someone sleeps with a fan very close by during the Summer and gets used to the buzz. When the fall begins, the person has trouble sleeping and elects to keep the fan running.
    2. Someone is either a very light sleeper or is living with noisy people. The fan noise “masks” the other sounds and allows the person to sleep comfortably.

  14. “chocolate covered jelly rings.”
    Those are amazing. They make my Pesach even better! Oh well…as the good ol’ Hebrew saying goes — al tam v’re’ach….

  15. I recently started liking jelly rings and I have always LOVED cheese curls- they rank near the top of my list of favorite snacks. I agree with #2 and #3 though.

Leave a Reply

