Another Number

I like this post by ProfK about eliminating women’s names because she comes up with an excellent alternative: replace them with numbers that include all a woman’s vital shidduch stats. I think that’s amazing! Eliminate the shidduch profile! Just send a number!

And I guess, just like she changes her last name post-marriage, she changes her number. I mean, I’m sure her husband wouldn’t want everyone to know all her vital stats. I’m not sure what the new number would tell, though. I’ll leave that to ProfK.

6 thoughts on “Another Number

  1. I think we should do it for guys too, then we can have an organization like Dor Yeshorim, where you call and give them the two numbers and they’ll tell you if it’s a good shidduch or not.

  2. your right, and the first and foremost number will be how attractive the person is from a 1-10 scale. Anybody whose number starts with less than an 8 we’ll just ignore. 😉

  3. fun quote of the day: “Old aunts used to come up to me at weddings, poke me in the ribs and cackle, telling me, “You’re next.” They stopped after I started doing the same thing to them at funerals”.

  4. Thanks b4. But if the number is replacing the shidduch profile then there is another set of digits that would need to be added to the number: the religiosity index. 613 would represent the ideal. Obviously there would be numbers to the left of this ideal, and just as obviously there would be numbers going way to the right of this ideal. Sure would beat having to put down yeshivish leaning modern orthodox machmir with right wing tendencies or aidel bais yaakov maidel who knows things and is flexible.

  5. In Israel there are already numbers- they have to be at least 6 figures

    Plus there’s number of years you want him to stay in learning/ he wants to stay in learning

    Gosh- We can have a whole binary encoding per person! Then a computer check would be simple.

Leave a Reply

