Solving a Shidduch Crisis

Not the shidduch crisis, but just one that comes up when it rains:

Does she bring her own umbrella? If she didn’t, should you have two? Or one?

I was skimming the Hammacher Schlemmer catalog, which is definitely a good Shabbos afternoon’s entertainment, and came across this little solution: The Double Umbrella. I’d love to see a video of how it opens and closes. But I’d settle for seeing it work on a date.

Umbrella only. Model to hang off your arm not included.
19 thoughts on “Solving a Shidduch Crisis

  1. Now this device is right up my alley! I’m ashamed I never thought of it, lol.

    I actually always keep two umbrellas in my backpack…. Not because I’m a nice guy, but because I really don’t like sharing an umbrella…you always end up getting wet. I’d rather carry two, and then have one to give, so we both stay dry…

  2. Any guy who would have an extra umbrella with him for the girl “just in case”, is a gentleman in my book.
    Not necessary, but certainly a nice thought.

  3. I think there is actually a halachic issue of sharing an umbrella – something to do with the close quarters and avoiding close contact with a nidda. I tried searching for the source online but couldn’t find it. If that’s the case, then this invention doesn’t help much, despite it’s inherent cuteness.

    In any event, I agree with harryer.

  4. Shades of Grey–Are you sure that doesn’t only apply to married couples when she’s a niddah?

  5. Looks like a great invention, although it might be a bit too close for comfort. Carrying two umbrellas around with you seems like it could get awfully heavy, especially if they are big umbrellas. Why can’t she bring her own umbrella?

  6. married couples in nidda wouldn’t be able to hold onto the umbrella shaft at the same time. i’m not sure about just being under the umbrella- i’d guess the poskim are split depending on their hashkafa as relating to nidda.

    but neither applies to single people. last i checked, an umbrella has no walls (not even halachic walls for shabbos purposes, though that big one might) and creates no enclosed room. you’re also outside when using it. lastly, mai shna from a huge single umbrella? you’re going to tell me that it’s not okay for someone to hold a large umbrella over himself and his date?

    in summary, why go looking for “halachic issues”? enough of them pop up by themselves. also, the thing costs $39.95.

  7. Kollel Wife and GP – I heard the remark in the context of a dating shiur on “dos” and “don’ts” while on a date. I don’t know if there is an issue per se with the umbrella itself (and what does a closed room have anything to do with nidda? I wasn’t talking about yichud) – it’s more the extreme proximity that is an issue – at least that’s the impression I got from the shiur. I’m also no expert in these halachos, since I’m neither married, nor in kollel for semicha in Taharas Hamishpacha.

    I’d put sharing an umbrella – which requires squeezing together and coordinated walking – as akin to riding in those cramped little “romantic” carriages in Central Park. It’s a little too close for comfort, even while successfully avoiding touching the other person.

  8. Kollel wife – not if you would never, in any stretch of the imagination, buy anything from it. Reading the H-S catalog is about the same as reading an article about wonky inventions, the way I see it. High chair for your dog, anyone?

  9. SoG- i was enumerating potential “issues” for both married and single people, respectively. sorry for not clarifying.

    Bad4- agree 100%. that and the sharper image.

  10. oh yeah- “dos and don’ts” != halacha, necessarily. and FWIW, those carriages would be assur during nidda even if they weren’t touching. ayyen arachim small cars, benches, and couches (aka safsal hamitnadned). why i think the umbrella might be different is because it doesn’t involve a common plane.

  11. GP – I should have clarified what I was talking about – the shiur was about halachic issues that arise in dating, including specifics situations of yichud, etc – that most guys are unaware of, but SHOULD be. Hence, dos and don’ts. It wasn’t practical advice/non halachic advice about what to wear or what topics to talk about.

  12. funny, because i’ve been to those types of sichot before, and asked about ferris wheels (very shayyach, kayadua). they hadn’t occurred to anyone and i got pooh-poohed.

Leave a Reply

