You Got Me

Our Pshaw Department
It is, to say the least, an unusual composition, scored for 11 mechanical pianos, one of them mechanical.
The New Yorker
So many people have told us that that sentence didn’t make sense that we are getting around to that opinion ourselves.

Many many years ago the New Yorker magazine used to fill empty space at the ends of columns with little typos and misquotes from various publications, garnished with a witty comment. Every now and then they were forced to print something from their own pages.

This particular quote popped into my head when I considered how to respond to the overwhelming number of emails and comments and chats from invigilating readers informing me of my misuse of the word ‘effect’ in last post.  Yes, it was egregious and embarrassing, and even without so many people pointing it out to me I probably would have come round to that opinion myself. (I occasionally find the typos weeks later and blush behind my laptop.)

So, I apologize for the error and thank you all for your vigilance. May poor grammar or spelling never obnubilate your writing.

9 thoughts on “You Got Me

  1. You only corrected one of the two instances of the mistake. I promise I’m done now. 🙂

    (And no, I’m not this annoyingly corrective of grammar on dates.)

  2. Yeah, I’ve seen that comic – really funny.

    I only do it to Bad4 because I know she’s serius about her grammar/spelling.

  3. Male, I do believe that is “serious about her grammar/spelling.” What’s that old saying about people who live in glass houses and the use of stones?

  4. Bad4 – nice.

    Prof K – that was on purpose. And I’m not just saying that like my sixth-grade math teacher said “I’m just testing you” when we caught her in a mistake; I was trying to see how long it would take to get corrected. 🙂

Leave a Reply

