Repeat Ten Times (Or More):

Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid.

Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid.

Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid.

Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid.

Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid.

Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid.

Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid.

Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid.

Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid.

Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid.

If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone.

Some people just take longer.

28 thoughts on “Repeat Ten Times (Or More):

  1. When you meet the right person, you will wonder why you even bothered with the others. This realization may not come in the first minutes of your acquaintance, but it will come eventually. I know that I may be speaking across a chasm here, and a month ago, I was on the same side of the chasm as you, and right now I think that I might be on the other side. Of course I can’t be sure, and I am waiting to see what happens. I’ll get back to you in a year. But from where I stand right now, this is so far different from anything I’ve experienced in the 18 years since I first had a boyfriend, and in fact it’s closest to my first boyfriend ever than anything else.

  2. MCP – you had to write shidduch-related assignments in fourth grade? Wow, our educational institutions are hitting new lows…

  3. Ya, my Rebbeim were very worried…I talked in class too often and they were afraid that it would show up on my report card, thereby ruining any possibilities of getting a good shidduch, cuz who wants a son in law that didn’t behave in elementary school?

  4. Why Bad4, I am surprised at you. What happened to the devil may care attitude? The firm, uncompromising belief? Heck, from one spinster to another, no need to be so maudlin. It is at this point, precisely, when one must apply all those religious beliefs of bashert and such. At 20, it’s cute. At 25, you know it.

  5. is “the newly engaged she” such a strange specimen that makes you believe if “she” can do it, surely you can..?

  6. Maybe she meant:

    10 * “Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid. Every pot has a lid.”

    and 10 * “If (s)he could find someone I can find someone. If (s)he could find someone I can find someone.”

  7. “Every pot has a lid. Pot has a lid every. Has a lid every pot. A lid every pot has. Lid every pot has a.”

    three times, forwards and backwards.

    Then go and greet three people of the [same/opposite]* gender with, “Shidduch Aleichem.” The person responds, “Aleichem shidduch.”

    *minhagim differ, of course.

    (If my humor is too esoteric, I apologize.)

  8. Repeating the first phrase over and over is very helpful. I’m not sure I agree with the logic behind “If (s)he could find someone I can find someone.” Even if (s)he could NOT find someone, we should still have faith that we can find someone.

  9. I hate when people tell me that because it isn’t true. Not every pot has a lid, no matter how many times we lie to ourselves we still know that.

  10. kisarita – this is an exercise in self-delusion. It’s like eating chocolate to make you happy. Maybe it’s not true and it doesn’t change the situation, but it feels good for a little bit.

  11. It may be true that only some pots have lids, but absolutely every tupperware has a lid somewhere. Question is, did it get put in the wrong drawer? Maybe you have to look where you weren’t expecting to find it.

  12. A friend recently challenged me, “but WHY do you want to get married?” Yes, we each want to find our lid, our matching sock, the u to fit our q. But why? Just because everyone else is doing it? Hopefully, at least somewhere deep down, we can say that we want to get married because we believe it will make us better servants of God.
    When we declared Hashem as king, a mere month ago, we completely nullified our own desires before Him. We are here solely to serve Him, and He knows exactly how He wants that to happen. אין עוד מלבדו – There is nothing but Him. There is no loneliness, there is no peer pressure, there are no hormonal urges, there’s just God and my relationship to Him.
    If He determines that His name can best be sanctified through through me getting married, then I will find that guy right now. But if that’s not the case right now, then I’m still His servant, and what more could I want? There is nothing else to want.
    עשה רצונו כרצוניך כדי שיעשה רצונך כרצונו – Make His will as your own, so that He will make your will as His own.
    Will I find my lid? Perhaps. Perhaps not. But either way, I’ve got a Creator, a purpose, and a mission to work on.

  13. Pingback: Jealousy + Hope « Bad for Shidduchim

Leave a Reply

