Still Off Topic: How You Peeve

Okay, here’s the fun part. Here’s a list of things that annoy people. Go through the list and tell us the following:

1 – are you male or female?

2 – are you guilty of said behavior?

3 – are you annoyed by said behavior?

Be honest – and be pseudonymous if you must, but be honest. This is data collection going on.

Since I suppose it’s only fair that I go first…

List of Peeves

singing/humming/whistling to yourself whilst going about your business

always having a negative attitude [Always irritating.]

constantly criticizing other people/things [Ditto]

leaving things on your bed and/or desk

staying for way too long and talking with absolutely every person at any and all social functions [That’s my host at the kiddush the morning I’m actually ravenous.]

never asking directions

drinking straight from the sink as if it’s a water fountain, with no cup [Not annoyed by it, not guilty of it.]

having too many shoes [Is there such a thing?]

putting back empty containers [That’s just stupid. And annoying.]

Putting back jars without screwing the tops on properly [Ye-ah that’s annoying. Says the girl mopping pickle juice off the kitchen floor.]

cracking knuckles [Occasionally guilty. I mean, knuckles sometimes need cracking… Not annoyed by it.]

Setting your alarm for very early and definitely before anyone else wants to get up

hitting snooze repeatedly because you set that alarm before even you want to get up [Had a sem roommate who did this. The only reason I never killed her was because I was too tired to get out of bed. The worst part? It was this jaunty dance tune. Argh!]

setting an alarm even though you sleep right through it [Had a sem roommate who did this too. It was practically a chorus of ignored alarm clocks in there. I offered to break this one’s alarm clock, and I offered to wake her up instead. The latter suggestion went over better.]

Leaving the shopping bags anywhere and everywhere instead of putting everything in place.

Talking on the phone when I am trying to fall asleep.

Not putting books back on shelves.

Leaving clothes to hang on the back of the bathroom door. [Messy, but only irritating if they never ever get moved. Not guilty.]

Not making one’s bed

clicking/tapping pens

dripping water all over the bathroom floor after a shower [This one bugs me. I mean, why should I have to wear water shoes in my own bathroom? Not guilty, of course.]

Being cheerful in the morning [Sometimes guilty. Depends what it’s the morning of and whether my roommate hates cheerful people.]

Making noise when I’m asleep (or before I’ve had my coffee)

Leaving books in the bathroom [I’m always amused when people have libraries next to the toilet. Seriously, how much time can you spend there?]

Leaving a computer in the bathroom [The mind rebels. Not peeved, though.]

Eating in front of the computer

Giving pet names to the spiders and yelling at anyone who dares to touch them

Allowing the dog on the coach and the bed

Letting a cat eat in one’s plate

Not putting back the drinks in the fridge [Not guilty, yes peeved. Clean up after yourself.]

Drinking from the carton [If it’s your own personal carton, I don’t care what you do, but keep your lips off anything we share. Wouldn’t do it myself, though, barring dehydration and lack of cup.]

Leaving toothpaste uncapped/capping it sloppily [Toothpaste, if not carefully maintained, has the capacity to degenerate into something decidedly messy.  Keep it neat, please.]

Squeezing toothpaste from top not bottom [Oh how this bothers me. It is just plain wrong.]

Hair/stubble in the sink/shower [I try not to do it and appreciate the same consideration.]

Toilet paper over versus under

Socks left on the floor

Clothes tossed over chairs [Yeah, I do it. And usually put it away the next day. You couldn’t recreate my week’s dress history by drilling through archeological strata on my armchair or anything. I think randomly chucked clothing is fine, as long as you keep most of your clothing in the closet, not draped over the furniture. I mean, if you’re trying on a gazillion outfits in search of the perfect one, you can’t be expected to hang rehang every item you go through in your quest.]

Toilet seat up/down [Keep it down!]

Hanging laundry to dry on the shower rod [Bothersome, but not grievously irritating. I generally avoid it.]

Scattered shoes/slippers

Things stuffed into drawers

Closet doors left open

Things not returned to their places (be it bathroom scale or box of tissues)

Leaving lights on [Turn off lights behind you. This one bugs me. I don’t do it.]

Leaving dishes in the sink [Guilty. Well, why do dishes three times a day when you can do them only once?]

Leaving things in the pockets of laundry [Pockets? Who has pockets? You must be male.]

Slurping soup [Eyew. Please please please don’t do it. I only do when I’m trying to make the parentals despair.]

Not replacing toilet paper that’s run out [If you don’t do this then you are a selfish and shortsighted… irritating person. So there.]

Makeup left on sink [Is this referring to goopy things dribbled on the sink or bottles?]

15 thoughts on “Still Off Topic: How You Peeve

  1. Most of those things can get annoying. A few years back, my room in the yeshiva dorm was the largest one, with six guys in it. All of them were guilty of being up till the wee hours of the night while I was trying to sleep, and then in the morning have alarm clocks ringing with no one getting up for them!
    A couple things not on the list that peeve me, people that when they speak to you get in your face, and when you back up, they take a step forward. Its like, BACK OFF! Another thing is people who dont worry about how their breath smells. I used to handout listerene tabs to the guys in yeshiva out of my desire to be able to breath.
    The only thing in your list that I am really guilty of, is my library in the bathroom. But most people appreciate it. (I think) Where else can you find the full set of Asterix? All 27 some odd books !?!

  2. Good list instead of shidduch resume. Fill this out and there is a basis for compatibility. I think most guys have book in the bathroom. Women tend to spend less time in there.
    The list is too long to fill out systematically. But it’s fun.

  3. Your first two are “negative” and “criticism” and then your list is a compilation of negative criticsim. Fascinating. try shortening your list a bit and get over things.

  4. ditp: you might try reading a post before criticizing it. Among things that annoy me, people who shoot off at the mouth without even reading a post are near the top.

    This isn’t a list of things that bother me. It’s a list of things that are potentially annoying for two people living together. The purpose is to see who is annoyed by them and who actually does them. Thus far, I wouldn’t say it has been a terribly successful social poll, since nobody seems to want to ‘fess up.

  5. singing/humming/whistling to yourself whilst going about your business

    always having a negative attitude [Always irritating.]
    I CONSIDER MYSELF A REALIST
    constantly criticizing other people/things [Ditto]

    leaving things on your bed and/or desk
    ALWAYS…AND ON MY HUSBAND’S BED TOO!
    staying for way too long and talking with absolutely every person at any and all social functions [That’s my host at the kiddush the morning I’m actually ravenous.]
    I AM ACTUALLY THE FIRST TO LEAVE–SOMETHING MY HUSBAND IS WORKING ON.
    never asking directions
    I ALWAYS ASK DIRECTIONS
    drinking straight from the sink as if it’s a water fountain, with no cup [Not annoyed by it, not guilty of it.]
    EWW, I DON’T DRINK SINK WATER AT ALL.
    having too many shoes [Is there such a thing?]
    I THINK I HAVE THE LEAST OF ANY GIRL ON THE PLANET.
    putting back empty containers [That’s just stupid. And annoying.]
    MY SISTER DOES THIS ALL THE TIME.
    Putting back jars without screwing the tops on properly [Ye-ah that’s annoying. Says the girl mopping pickle juice off the kitchen floor.]

    cracking knuckles [Occasionally guilty. I mean, knuckles sometimes need cracking… Not annoyed by it.]

    Setting your alarm for very early and definitely before anyone else wants to get up
    OH DEFINITELY NOT!!
    hitting snooze repeatedly because you set that alarm before even you want to get up [Had a sem roommate who did this. The only reason I never killed her was because I was too tired to get out of bed. The worst part? It was this jaunty dance tune. Argh!]

    setting an alarm even though you sleep right through it [Had a sem roommate who did this too. It was practically a chorus of ignored alarm clocks in there. I offered to break this one’s alarm clock, and I offered to wake her up instead. The latter suggestion went over better.]
    I SOMETIMES HAVE TO THROW THE ALARM AT MY HUSBAND AFTER HE LETS IT RING MORE THAN I CAN TOLERATE.
    Leaving the shopping bags anywhere and everywhere instead of putting everything in place.

    Talking on the phone when I am trying to fall asleep.
    GUILTY
    Not putting books back on shelves.
    YEP, THAT’S ME.
    Leaving clothes to hang on the back of the bathroom door. [Messy, but only irritating if they never ever get moved. Not guilty.]
    WILL NOT DISLOSE MY CLOTHING STORAGE SITUATION.
    Not making one’s bed
    I SLEEP ON TOP OF MY BLANKET FOR THIS REASON. GUILTY?
    clicking/tapping pens

    dripping water all over the bathroom floor after a shower [This one bugs me. I mean, why should I have to wear water shoes in my own bathroom? Not guilty, of course.]
    OMG MY SISTER DOES THIS ALL THE TIME! I ALWAYS ASK HER IF SHE IS SURE SHE SHOWERED IN THE STALL OR IF SHE JUST SHOWERED STANDING NEAR THE TOILET. GOSH.
    Being cheerful in the morning [Sometimes guilty. Depends what it’s the morning of and whether my roommate hates cheerful people.]

    Making noise when I’m asleep (or before I’ve had my coffee)

    Leaving books in the bathroom [I’m always amused when people have libraries next to the toilet. Seriously, how much time can you spend there?]
    I LOVE FINDING BOOKS IN A BATHROOM! OF COURSE, IF IT’S NOT FAMILY, I HAVE TO MAKE SURE I COME OUT OF THERE WITHIN A NORMAL TIME LIMIT….
    Leaving a computer in the bathroom [The mind rebels. Not peeved, though.]
    UHH, WHAT?
    Eating in front of the computer
    MY FATHER EATS HIS SUPPER THERE EVERY DAY, SO I AM USED TO THAT.
    Giving pet names to the spiders and yelling at anyone who dares to touch them
    I KNOW SOMEONE WHO WOULD DO THIS….
    Allowing the dog on the coach and the bed

    Letting a cat eat in one’s plate

    Not putting back the drinks in the fridge [Not guilty, yes peeved. Clean up after yourself.]
    GUUUUIIILLLTTTY!!!
    Drinking from the carton [If it’s your own personal carton, I don’t care what you do, but keep your lips off anything we share. Wouldn’t do it myself, though, barring dehydration and lack of cup.]
    PROVE IT.
    Leaving toothpaste uncapped/capping it sloppily [Toothpaste, if not carefully maintained, has the capacity to degenerate into something decidedly messy. Keep it neat, please.]

    Squeezing toothpaste from top not bottom [Oh how this bothers me. It is just plain wrong.]

    Hair/stubble in the sink/shower [I try not to do it and appreciate the same consideration.]

    Toilet paper over versus under

    Socks left on the floor
    HAHA ALWAYS, IN FACT, I PROBABLY HAVE THREE PAIRS SCATTERED ACROSS MY ROOM NOW.
    Clothes tossed over chairs [Yeah, I do it. And usually put it away the next day. You couldn’t recreate my week’s dress history by drilling through archeological strata on my armchair or anything. I think randomly chucked clothing is fine, as long as you keep most of your clothing in the closet, not draped over the furniture. I mean, if you’re trying on a gazillion outfits in search of the perfect one, you can’t be expected to hang rehang every item you go through in your quest.]

    Toilet seat up/down [Keep it down!]

    Hanging laundry to dry on the shower rod [Bothersome, but not grievously irritating. I generally avoid it.]

    Scattered shoes/slippers

    Things stuffed into drawers

    Closet doors left open

    Things not returned to their places (be it bathroom scale or box of tissues)
    I CONFESS.
    Leaving lights on [Turn off lights behind you. This one bugs me. I don’t do it.]
    I’LL LET THE HUSBANDRY REMAIN IN HEAVEN. GUILTY!
    Leaving dishes in the sink [Guilty. Well, why do dishes three times a day when you can do them only once?]
    ALWAYS, DID I MENTION I HAVE A GREAT HUSBAND??
    Leaving things in the pockets of laundry [Pockets? Who has pockets? You must be male.]
    I LEAVE CANDY, PILLS, MONEY….
    Slurping soup [Eyew. Please please please don’t do it. I only do when I’m trying to make the parentals despair.]

    Not replacing toilet paper that’s run out [If you don’t do this then you are a selfish and shortsighted… irritating person. So there.]
    I ALWAYS REPLACE THE ROLL (SEE, I HAVE ONE GOOD THING GOING FOR ME.)
    Makeup left on sink [Is this referring to goopy things dribbled on the sink or bottles?]

    SORRY FOR WRITING IN CAPS BUT I WANTED TO SHOW A DIFFERENCE BETWEEN YOUR POST AND MY ADDED NOTES. I AM REALLY NOT SCREAMING, I AM QUIET AS A MOUSE.

  6. List of Peeves

    singing/humming/whistling to yourself whilst going about your business [Guilty]

    always having a negative attitude [This truly bothers me.]

    constantly criticizing other people/things [Ditto]

    leaving things on your bed and/or desk [My desk is packed with things]

    staying for way too long and talking with absolutely every person at any and all social functions [Gets a bit annoying but manageable]

    never asking directions [Guilty

    drinking straight from the sink as if it’s a water fountain, with no cup [Annoyed by it]
    having too many shoes [How many pairs of shoes can a person possibly need??]

    putting back empty containers [Why?? There is no reason]

    Putting back jars without screwing the tops on properly [This is quite annoying…]

    cracking knuckles [Guilty]

    Setting your alarm for very early and definitely before anyone else wants to get up [Guilty]

    hitting snooze repeatedly because you set that alarm before even you want to get up [Guilty]

    setting an alarm even though you sleep right through it [Guilty]

    Leaving the shopping bags anywhere and everywhere instead of putting everything in place. [Annoying]

    Talking on the phone when I am trying to fall asleep. [Rude, not often guilty]

    Not putting books back on shelves. [Very guilty]

    Leaving clothes to hang on the back of the bathroom door. [Not Guilty]

    Not making one’s bed {sometimes guilty]

    clicking/tapping pens [Guilty]

    dripping water all over the bathroom floor after a shower [Not Guilty]

    Being cheerful in the morning [Sometimes guilty.]

    Making noise when I’m asleep (or before I’ve had my coffee) [Not often guilty]

    Leaving books in the bathroom [Very Guilty. Astronomy and Cosmology and Harry Potter]

    Leaving a computer in the bathroom [Once Guilty but other than that]

    Eating in front of the computer [Often Guilty]

    Giving pet names to the spiders and yelling at anyone who dares to touch them [NEVER GUILTY]

    Allowing the dog on the coach and the bed [don’t have a dog]

    Letting a cat eat in one’s plate [no dog either]

    Not putting back the drinks in the fridge [Not guilty, yes peeved. Clean up after yourself.]

    Drinking from the carton [Sometimes, but not often, and not anymore]

    Leaving toothpaste uncapped/capping it sloppily [Not normally guilty, but possibly]

    Squeezing toothpaste from top not bottom [Not normally guilty]

    Hair/stubble in the sink/shower [I try not to do it]

    Toilet paper over versus under [Personal Preference, don’t really care personally]

    Socks left on the floor [guilty]

    Clothes tossed over chairs [Normally the floor but the chair is fair game as well]

    Toilet seat up/down [Used to be guilty but then I realized that it was rude]

    Hanging laundry to dry on the shower rod [Very annoying! The Hamper is right below it]

    Scattered shoes/slippers [Depends where]

    Things stuffed into drawers [Annoying]

    Closet doors left open [Not too bad]

    Things not returned to their places (be it bathroom scale or box of tissues)[Their place is where they currently are]

    Leaving lights on [Annoying and expensive]

    Leaving dishes in the sink [Guilty but not for more than a few hours]

    Leaving things in the pockets of laundry [Annoying, but do it]

    Slurping soup [Disgusting, but fun to do at a big dinner table :-)]

    Not replacing toilet paper that’s run out [Annoying but not too bad if you have toilet paper nearby anyway]

    Makeup left on sink [Annoying. Bathrooms should be kept neat]

  7. Leaving the shopping bags anywhere and everywhere instead of putting everything in place. **Very guilty and whenever I forget I’m the only one who does the shopping I also get very annoyed by whoever leaves them around.

    Shoes everywhere. **Super guilty, and annoyed at all my kids who have inherited the habit!!!

    Leaving things on bed/desk. **Yep. And I even used to use the floor too (but we’ve since moved to Israel and no more carpet…). Hubby said after a year or two he decided to accept so long as the mess stayed on “my side” he would just not care. Of course over the years he’s come to leave his clothes on my bed on occasion…. ahem, ahem.

    My 5 year old drinks from the sink sometimes. It’s cute. I probably won’t say that when he’s 15.

  8. I added to the list from the last post.

    There has to be a better system to respond to this post.

    Will post soon…

  9. singing/humming/whistling to yourself whilst going about your business {singing sometimes. Drives me up the wall when others do it}
    always having a negative attitude {strong>well… not always….}
    constantly criticizing other people/things {I plead the fifth}
    leaving things on your bed and/or desk & Clothes tossed over chairs {my wandering around the house clothes alternate between my bed and my chair, depending on what I’m using at the moment}
    staying for way too long and talking with absolutely every person at any and all social functions {social functions!? Help!!}
    never asking directions
    drinking straight from the sink as if it’s a water fountain, with no cup {not guilty, but it bothers me tons}
    having too many shoes {depends what too many means. too many that I don’t wear because they don’t fit me well, yeah. Too man that I do wear, no.}
    putting back empty containers {Hope I’m not guilty. Super annoying.}
    Putting back jars without screwing the tops on properly {not guilty. Hate getting tomato sauce all over my hands}
    cracking knuckles {fairly often [and neck] but bothers me when others do it}
    Setting your alarm for very early and definitely before anyone else wants to get up & hitting snooze repeatedly because you set that alarm before even you want to get up {guilty of these in sem until my roommate told me to use vibrate instead of ringer on my phone that I used as my alarm}
    setting an alarm even though you sleep right through it {only my quiet Amazing Savings one.}
    Leaving the shopping bags anywhere and everywhere instead of putting everything in place. {not guilty. Only bothers me if I trip on them.}
    Talking on the phone when I am trying to fall asleep. {don’t do ANYTHING when I’m trying to go to sleep}
    Not putting books back on shelves {not guilty, bothers me!}
    Not making one’s bed {only make it on rare occasions. don’t mind if others don’t make their beds}
    clicking/tapping pens {do it sometimes, drives me NUTS [can you tell I have sensory issues!?!?]}
    dripping water all over the bathroom floor after a shower {there’s a bathmat for a reason, no?}
    Being cheerful in the morning {NOT GUILTY. But I might ignore you if you’re cheerful at me in the morn}
    Making noise when I’m asleep {big no-no}
    Leaving books in the bathroom { we only have books in the bathroom}
    Leaving a computer in the bathroom {ich!!!!!!! that’s gross}
    Eating in front of the computer {guilty as charged. I don’t mind as long as others clean up after themselves}
    Giving pet names to the spiders and yelling at anyone who dares to touch them {not guilty. and if you want to act like a nutcase, be my guest}
    Allowing the dog on the coach and the bed & Letting a cat eat in one’s plate {never had the opportunity}
    Not putting back the drinks in the fridge {not guilty. do you want the drink warm next time you come to take some?}
    Drinking from the carton {last time I did that was…. too long ago to remember. I think it’s uncouth.}
    Leaving toothpaste uncapped/capping it sloppily {Not guilty. Bothers me – as does leaving shampoo slime around the cap of the shampoo bottle}
    Squeezing toothpaste from top not bottom {couldn’t care less.}
    Hair/stubble in the sink/shower {used to do it until a dear sibling informed me that it was gross. now I don’t do it, and it bothers me when others do}
    Toilet paper over versus under {haven’t really noticed the difference yet}
    Socks left on the floor {yup. kick them off when I sleep}
    Toilet seat up/down {down!!!!!!}
    Hanging laundry to dry on the shower rod {nope. don’t care if it’s there as long as you don’t mind if I dump it somewhere when I take a shower}
    Scattered shoes/slippers {occasionally, but only in my room or in close proximity to where I am or was moments ago. annoys me to no end that my sibs have like one pair in every room}
    Things stuffed into drawers {guilty sometimes, but then my inner perfectionist self takes over and I refold everything}
    Closet doors left open {close them please}
    Things not returned to their places {if you know what’s good for you….}
    Leaving lights on {why waste electricity?}
    Leaving dishes in the sink {guilty. I’d rather use plastic. and it bothers me when others do it cuz then I get dirty water splashed on my when I was my hands}
    Leaving things in the pockets of laundry {only bobby pins}
    Slurping soup {gross!}
    Not replacing toilet paper that’s run out {one of my pet peeves. only guilty when my short term memory loss kicks in, or when it’s 3 am}
    Makeup left on sink {who wears makeup? 😉 guilty once I believe}

    (And if you haven’t guessed by now I am a female)

  10. Oops! Ignore the “strong>” in my first answer. That was from when I thought I was going to bold all my answers.

  11. Ok my turn. I’m female…

    singing/humming/whistling to yourself whilst going about your business (dont do it but not too bothered by it unless its in a quiet place like a library. then it is extremely irritating).

    always having a negative attitude [Always irritating.]

    constantly criticizing other people/things [Ditto]

    leaving things on your bed and/or desk (guity, doesnt bother me at all if others do it too)

    staying for way too long and talking with absolutely every person at any and all social functions (annoying if its someone else and you want to go home! i do it occassionally though..)

    never asking directions (not guilty – but i use my gps to go everywhere though…)

    drinking straight from the sink as if it’s a water fountain, with no cup [not guilty of it. dont know anyone who does that though i think it is quite gross]

    having too many shoes [impossible]

    putting back empty containers [very annoying. i never do that]

    Putting back jars without screwing the tops on properly [annoying. not guilty though).

    cracking knuckles [Occasionally guilty. I mean, knuckles sometimes need cracking… Not annoyed by it.]

    Setting your alarm for very early and definitely before anyone else wants to get up (not guilty, very annoying)

    hitting snooze repeatedly because you set that alarm before even you want to get up [this is REALLY annoying. i had a roommate who did this and i could have killed her. i am a really light sleeper so things like that really bother me)

    setting an alarm even though you sleep right through it [i cant stand people who do this. it is totally rude and inconsiderate to others. i had a roommate who would do this and i would have to yell at her for ages until she finally woke up and turned off her alarm. not a great start to the morning.)

    Leaving the shopping bags anywhere and everywhere instead of putting everything in place.(annoying. i empty things away straight away and put them away. actually, i only do that with groceries. clothes end up staying in bags for ages…)

    Talking on the phone when I am trying to fall asleep.(i cant sleep with any kind of noise. talking on the phone is one of the worse ones. or texting all night. i dont think i slept one night in sem the whole year because of this. slept a lot through the classes instead…)

    Not putting books back on shelves. (not guilty, not too bothered by it)

    Leaving clothes to hang on the back of the bathroom door. [Messy, but only irritating if they never ever get moved. Not guilty.]

    Not making one’s bed (doesnt bother me.i hardly make my bed)

    clicking/tapping pens (is quite annoying. not guilty)

    dripping water all over the bathroom floor after a shower (not guilty. does bother me)

    Being cheerful in the morning [doesnt bother me. much rather them then people who are really grumpy for hours in the morning. THOSE people annoy me.

    Making noise when I’m asleep (or before I’ve had my coffee)(any noise when im asleep bothers me. i try to be really quiet when others are asleep)

    Leaving books in the bathroom (guilty – my mum hates it though so me and my dad keep it to a minimum. we have books with puzzles and chicken soup books in there)

    Leaving a computer in the bathroom (dont know anyone who does it. wouldnt bother me though)

    Eating in front of the computer (do it the whole time. not sure why it would bother people)

    Giving pet names to the spiders and yelling at anyone who dares to touch them (???)

    Allowing the dog on the coach and the bed (i dont have a dog but i hate others who do that)

    Letting a cat eat in one’s plate (thats just wrong)

    Not putting back the drinks in the fridge [Not guilty, yes peeved.]

    Drinking from the carton (not guilty. would find it gross if i saw someone doing it from a carton that is everyones. if its their own i dont mind).

    Leaving toothpaste uncapped/capping it sloppily (not guilty. bothers me)

    Squeezing toothpaste from top not bottom [Oh how this bothers me. It is just plain wrong. (not guilty. kinda bothers me)

    Hair/stubble in the sink/shower (my biggest peeve. in sem there were girls with thick black hair who would clog the shower with their hair. absolutely disgusting. maybe because my family are all really fair and we clean showers after we use them..)

    Toilet paper over versus under (doesnt bother me at all)

    Socks left on the floor (doesnt bother me. guilty sometimes)

    Clothes tossed over chairs (guilty. im terrible at putting my clothes away).

    Toilet seat up/down [Keep it down!]

    Hanging laundry to dry on the shower rod [(Not guilty, not bothered)

    Scattered shoes/slippers (drives me mad when its in a public place and i trip over them. in my room my stuff is everywhere. but i dont share it with anyone so its allowed… ;))

    Things stuffed into drawers (guilty, doesnt bother me as long as the drawer is shut and there arent parts of the clothing sticking out. THAT annoys me!)

    Closet doors left open (not guilty. this really bugs me) cant sleep if doors are open.)

    Things not returned to their places (be it bathroom scale or box of tissues)(bothers me in rest of house besides bedrooms. im a big mess in my bedroom but rest of the house needs to have things in their right places)

    Leaving lights on [not guilty. not that bothered)

    Leaving dishes in the sink [not guilty. annoying. how hard is it too wash up a dish???)

    Leaving things in the pockets of laundry [only annoying if its tissues and it goes everwhere. not annoying if its money and i get to keep it 🙂 i dont ever leave things in pockets though]

    Slurping soup [annoying, not guilty)

    Not replacing toilet paper that’s run out [very annoying. not guilty.)

    Makeup left on sink [i dont wear makeup much but would always clean up after myself)

  12. singing/humming/whistling to yourself whilst going about your business (Guilty only when no one else is around. I find it kind of annoying when other people do it while I’m around.)

    always having a negative attitude [Always irritating.]

    constantly criticizing other people/things [Ditto]

    leaving things on your bed and/or desk (does this mean you leaving things on your own bed/desk or your roommate leaving things on your bed/desk? Guilty of the first – I always leave things on my desk, annoyed by the second)

    having too many shoes (only annoying if they get into other people’s space)

    cracking knuckles (can’t stand it)

    Setting your alarm for very early and definitely before anyone else wants to get up (guilty, but I wish I didn’t have to)

    hitting snooze repeatedly because you set that alarm before even you want to get up (yeah, that’s annoying)

    setting an alarm even though you sleep right through it (really annoying)

    Talking on the phone when I am trying to fall asleep. (that’s inconsiderate)

    Not making one’s bed (it kind of grosses me out when people don’t make their beds)

    clicking/tapping pens (only annoying during a test)

    dripping water all over the bathroom floor after a shower (only annoying if the person doesn’t clean it up after)

    Being cheerful in the morning (only annoying if I’m not feeling cheerful and the person is trying to make me more cheerful. let me wake up to the day, first!)

    Making noise when I’m asleep (makes me so annoyed it’s even harder to fall back asleep because I’m too busy feeling annoyed)

    Leaving a computer in the bathroom (I can’t say I’ve ever seen a computer in the bathroom)

    Eating in front of the computer (guilty, even though I know I shouldn’t)

    Not putting back the drinks in the fridge [Not guilty, yes peeved. Clean up after yourself.]

    Drinking from the carton (I don’t like it. It doesn’t seem civilized.)

    Leaving toothpaste uncapped/capping it sloppily (ick)

    Hair/stubble in the sink/shower (ick again)

    Clothes tossed over chairs [guilty, but try not to let it get too bad. It only bothers me when other people do it if their pile gets so big it gets in my space too]

    Toilet seat up/down [Keep it down!]

    Scattered shoes/slippers (again, only annoying if it gets in my space)

    Things stuffed into drawers (this only bothers me if I can see the clothes coming out of the drawers and it makes the room look messy. otherwise, I don’t care what someone else does in her own dresser)

    Closet doors left open (dislike)

    Leaving dishes in the sink (really gross. wash your dishes, it takes about two minutes)

    Slurping soup [gross.]

    Not replacing toilet paper that’s run out [If you don’t do this then you are a selfish and shortsighted… irritating person. So there.]

    Makeup left on sink (it’s nice to have a clear, clean sink)

  13. Wow, I made it to your top ten list of people that annoy you.

    I don’t “shoot off at the mouth”, I am too old for that. I give strongly worded opinions in a calm voice.

    And I will fess up- there are many things in a marriage that are annoying. Two different people do things differently. But when you have a strong marriage and you care for your spouse, these pet peeves really become unimportant- you live with it. Because you love the person more than you can get annoyed but stupid things like hair stubble in the sink or dirty socks on the floor.

    And I still think that “always having a negative attitude” and “constantly criticizing other people/things ”
    are personality traits that you see when you’re dating. And you should avoid if you can’t live with it. Don’t put these two in the same category as hair stubble and unwashed dishes.

  14. ditp: I didn’t put anything in any categories. I merely collected suggestions from the readership and posted them. Not all are household peeves. It just happened that way. And again: if you were actually following (not to mention keeping an open mind) you’d have realized that.

Leave a Reply

