Friday Repost: Achilles Heels & Dating

The first time I dated someone shorter than myself was very stressful. Nowadays I figure, chances are we’re going to spend most of the date sitting anyway, so he’ll have to deal with it. I might be jaded or just plain callous. But then again, I have no plans to wear flats for the rest of my life, so he might as well get the idea. Besides, Tom Cruise walks around with taller women all the time. What’s the big deal?

Of course, not all women relish the thought of peering down at their spouse just because they wore pretty shoes. As this tale tells.

7 thoughts on “Friday Repost: Achilles Heels & Dating

  1. As a self-proclaimed Amazon (lacking merely those awesome battle moves) there is an absolute tediousness to my dating life. I only wear flats (I can’t keep my balance in heels) but I am still attacked for not wearing them, or being accused of wearing them.

    Then if a guy claims he doesn’t care if I tower over him, I begin to question his sanity. Is it possible? Nay!

    Here’s my post on the subject.

    http://frumanista.blogspot.com/2011/09/resume-or-reality.html

  2. Have to disagree with you Princess. I read your post. I have on my profile I’m 5′ 8”, while if you measure me exactly it comes closer to 5′ 8.33” but I aint writing that.

    And don’t question my sanity when I say I don’t mind taller women. I go out with girls all the time who are taller than me, and I’m even going out with one on Sunday.

    I actually prefer in some ways taller women. Better for the genes! I marry a short girl, I’ll have short kids!

    Taller is better. Reason #9825 to vote for Romney.
    Obama = 6′ 1”
    Romney = 6′ 2”

    Romney 2012! lol πŸ™‚

  3. Oh, I was actually gonna post that about Tom Cruise! You beat me to it! I don’t listen to trash radio so I normally wouldn’t know, but I heard it while at the barber today.

  4. I’m actually embarrassed that I knew. It’s AOL’s fault.

    It’s all in my head, I know. It’s just I have been threatened too many times by men with steak knives claiming I have misled them that I am now quite leery.

    Even articles in NYT show that the majority misrepresent their height. My paranoia is not unfounded, despite your honesty. πŸ™‚

  5. OK, no shame in knowing. But there is a shame in using AOL! What is this, the 90’s???

    Yeah, my date today was definitely taller than she said! πŸ™‚

  6. I always just get very excited when I’m suggested someone who is above 5’5. I guess since I am 5’3 – it seems only fair to people that I should go out with the 5’4, 5’5 guys.

Leave a Reply

