Dating by the Book

I spend a lot of time discussing books with friends.We swap recommendations (The Doomsday Book, Code Name Verity, How to Be Good, Busman’s Honeymoon, The Arrival), we debate important subjects (Is  Brave New World the ultimate dystopia? Is there any revenge novel that can come close to The Count of Monte Cristo?), and once we spent two hours arguing over whether The Hunger Games had good characterization or not.

Books make you new friends. Or steal you them. Once, Good4 sat by completely disgusted while I hijacked her friends to swap favorite Shakespeare orations.   We wound up with our heads together comparing actors on YouTube, and, as the night wound down and turned into morning, testing our own thespian skills on the Bard.

Point being: people who like books can sometimes resemble people who like sports (only smarter). Get them together in a room and throw Monstrous Regiment on the table, and watch them go on and on about political themes, multiple layers of irony, and whether Making Money is better.

And the conversation can give you insight into other people. Like the friend who told me that she’s never really gotten Darcy, but understands Scarlett O’Hara perfectly. Or the friend who really, really likes Tamora Pierce. Or the friend who thinks that feminine behavior in Gothic romances is totally realistic.

So honestly, it’s surprising that nobody’s thought of this dating idea before. An Arlington library has created book-based speed dating, based on a North Dakota event on the same page. Bring a book that you like. Discuss.

I could totally handle that. But it’ll have to wait a little bit, because I’m up to the best part.

17 thoughts on “Dating by the Book

  1. Talking about books was a lot of my first conversation with my husband- I’d stand behind this approach as a good way to get to know someone…

  2. The speed dating thing is an interesting angle. Otherwise, sounds like a date at Barnes and Noble. Fun for me, my favorite place in the world, but, as my kids would say:yawn

  3. Point being: people who like books can sometimes resemble people who like sports (only smarter). Ouch. Some of us love both, thank you very much.

  4. Oh no- Monsterous Regiment has many good points. I think it might be a toss up in my opinion…
    And- I think it’s a brilliant idea. In the worst case scenario, you’ll find no one of datable material, but many new friends that you’ve bonded with over books. What could go wrong?

  5. …or you might rule out a wonderful guy who doesn’t have the same taste in literature. Is it really necessary to be married to someone who has read and liked your favorite books? (Quick, let me know – I may need to rethink our nearly 30 years of marriage!)

  6. Well, you might meet someone you like personally, but whose taste you disagree with, and enjoy debating the finer points of literature. Some of my very best friends have dubious taste in literature… Of course, they’d probably say the same about me. We’ve been known to dismiss each others favorites as “That’s such a Bad4 book” or, “That’s such an MF #12 book,” or, “You’d like this book… I didn’t really.”

  7. Another brilliant and witty post.
    Dubious taste in literature? You mean there’s something wrong with Twilight? Blank stare. (disclaimer: I have never read Twilight)

  8. I went out with a girl last night who told me excluding books she was forced to read by her school, she hasn’t read anything since 3rd grade. Immediate dump! 😛

  9. How can i have not read anything on the list in the first paragraph? this is not good and must be rectified.
    Easy- Making Money is better, but Going Postal is even better than that. (if someone hasnt read either that sentence probably looks disturbing.)
    and really the answer is, any book with Vimes in it is better. (although Snuff is arguable.)

  10. And the more Vetinari the better, imho. Monstrous Regiment is the only non-Vimes non-Vetinari Discworld book that is really worth re-reading.

  11. I disagree slightly- Equal Rites, Lords and Ladies, and the Tiffany Aching (especially I Shall Wear Midnight) books are all worth a re-read. But hands down, Night Watch is the best of them all.

  12. Ok, so got to chime in here. Debate is over: Monstrous Regiment beats Making Money any day. Going Postal is a second to MR. Making Money just was not that great in comparison…. I cannot count how many times I read MR/GP on long shabbos afternoons when I didn’t get a chance to go to the library. But I agree with B4S, usually the more Vimes and Vetinari, the better.
    Anyone on here ever read the Monster Hunter books, by Larry Correia (I may have spelled that wrong…)? Sounds gruesome and gross by the title, and there is some blood/gore, but the humor and literary style is “can’t put the book down, I’ll make dinner in 5 more minutes, that paper can wait another hour” engrossing.

  13. Sounds like a great idea, unless you’re looking for the sort of boy who spends more time reading Gemara and meforshim than The Hunger Games or Monstrous Regiment…

Leave a Reply

