Thursday Link: Freezing Fertility

I admit, this article came as a bit of a shock. I always assumed, in a sort of vague way, that if I wasn’t married at 30 I’d freeze some eggs. I figured I’d do more research when the time came.

Well, it turns out that freezing eggs is over $9,000 a pop, and has at most a 50% chance of success. (Is that per egg or per batch, I wonder?) This information had on me the reverse effect the article intended.

But trot over and read it for yourself. And then let me know: would freezing your eggs be a relief or an additional stress?

 

HT to Kansasian

14 thoughts on “Thursday Link: Freezing Fertility

  1. I can tell you this: as a woman who went through infertility for a few years, while very young, and had multiple miscarriages, do EVERYTHING you can WHILE you can to preserve your fertility. The stress of freezing your eggs will be nothing compared to infertility treatments.

    But of course, you’re young and healthy, and years away from 30, and hopefully this should not be an issue 🙂

  2. It’s a chance per cycle (ivf is about a twenty five percent chance, iui is higher, so I don’t know where you are getting fifty.)I’m assuming then, that we are talking about survival of eggs after removal via freezing. Nowadays due to better freezing, most eggs survive the freeze thaw cycle, but in some centers they use the old method which has a low survival rate. Also, each situation is different, so the rates will change depending on multiple factors.

  3. @NMF #7
    Your stats are off, at the clinic I went to IVF has over a 60% success rate under the age of 35. Not sure about IUI, but actually think the success rate is lower than IVF.

  4. That would be $9K per procedure, not per egg (at your age and if all is well IY”H BY”H if they gave you the drugs you could get 20 eggs, maybe).

    If you’re serious… come do it in Israel, way cheaper here.

  5. My stats aren’t off. See this site from a brief search on webmd (I’ll get more formal sites soon) http://www.m.webmd.com/a-to-z-guides/in-vitro-fertilization?page=5. It’s a pregnancy rate of about 23%. In the rates I saw personally from a hospital in Israel, it’s about 25%- doing better than the average. Although your clinic may have had those results for the under thirty five population, the numbers I quoted are the standard for ivf. Obviously age , number of eggs implanted, and protocol used has an effect. I would love to see any research showing a 60% rate of pregnancy (again, that’s different than successful transfer). And, check out successful birth rates as well, as well as success of retrieval, freeze/unfreeze and do on.

  6. The % given was for viability of eggs after freezing, not IVF. Obviously, that has its own statistical success rates.

    Rates in Israel, I’d think, would be somewhat lower. The rumor I heard is that some Orthodox authorities require you to go one egg at a time.

  7. Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam remarks?

    If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any help is very much appreciated.

  8. I just delete them daily. It’s annoying, but the spam filter doesn’t seem to catch them.

Leave a Reply

