Back of the Class

I am very lucky: my high school class has an excellent archivist. So when there was a sudden and unexpected flurry of engagements this year, I was able to request the data.

Here’s what I wanted to know: how many of us are still single?

There were 66 students in my graduating high school class. Of those, 59 are married or engaged. For those who don’t care to reach for their calculator, that’s 89%. Which is to say, 10.6% are still single.

Well, we all know the 10% statistic. So, as a member of the 10% of my high school class, I think I can officially give up.

Yes, I know, it’s a statistic, not a rule. Of course it’s not a rule! I have a friend who is the last in her class still single. Although, granted, at a class size of 15, that may not be a significant variance from 10%. I don’t know – I haven’t got the time to figure it out.

It should probably be disheartening to think that I’m now a statistic. But the truth is, everyone’s a statistic. If you’re not in the 10% single then you’re in the 90% married. Honestly, what’s the difference? We can all be distilled into numbers one way or another.

So I kept adding columns to my spreadsheet. This time I was curious about rate of marriage. Is it sort of bell-shaped, or is there a tail? That’s really what set off my quest in the first place.

And so, I present to you, a case study of a Bais Yaakov High School, marriage rate, sample size 66.
Marriage Histogram

 

As you can see, there’s a slow start, as most of the sample was in Israel, and had a delayed start entering the marriage pool. But those who stayed in New York City lost no time at all in engaging themselves to the local male populace.

Once the Israel-seminarians returned, they too threw themselves into the marriage market, marrying an astonishing 18 of themselves off in the first year alone! This rapid rate of pairing slowed only marginally for the next two years, before dropping precipitously.  This may be due to the fact that a grand total of 71% of them were now paired off and busily reproducing themselves. The remaining 29% were slower and more circumspect. However, eventually another 20% of them also found a mate. These pairings were slower, more gradual, and illustrate undramatically on the histogram above.

You may be wondering: yes, there is a rapid marriage rate. But what about the divorce rate?

Well, I reassure you, the class currently stands at zero divorces, which is a rate of 0%.

13 thoughts on “Back of the Class

  1. Cool – great work.
    So the same number of people got married in the third year out of high school (approximately age 20-22) as did people between year 4-7 (about age 22-26.) This means a BY graduate is just as likely to get married at either age, statistically, and is extremely unlikely to get married very fast or very slow. So why worry?
    Your time will come – my high school class just got married off.
    I didn’t keep exact track – but here we go:
    Year 1: 0
    Year 2: 2
    Year 3: 14
    Year 4: 15
    Year 5: 2
    Year 6: 1
    Year 7: 1
    Year 8: 0
    Year 9: 0
    Years 10: 1
    Years 11-12: 1
    Year 13-14: 0
    Year 15: 1

  2. Wow, I don’t know about exact numbers for my high school class. But the guys who took the kollel/no college route are almost all married, probably about 90%. The guys like me who went to college probably about 65%. (I’m 8 years out).

  3. It took me 11 years after hs but B’H I am now happily married. See, it does happen! I wish you lots of happiness at every stage in life.

  4. I kept track of marriages, but failed to keep track of when they happened. 2/3 of my BY class is married or engaged 6 years after graduation. We are slow.

  5. Pingback: Thursday Link: Things Not to Say to a Single Woman | Bad for Shidduchim

  6. I know this comment is coming really late but I just wanted to mention that I got married 17 years after graduating high school and so did two of my classmates (graduating class of 55 or so.) Of course, this was before the official shidduch crisis hysteria took off; we all got married in 2001. Only two or three of my classmates have never been married.

  7. Pingback: Friday Repost: Statistical Comparison | Bad for Shidduchim

  8. Pingback: More Classmate Statistics | Bad for Shidduchim

Leave a comment