The Unenhanced Date

behind the scenes feature

 

HT SA for the ‘toon.

 

NEF#8 showed up to her surprise shower wearing a terry-cloth zip-up hoodie, denim skirt, and flats.

When she found out that her groom-to-be was in the kitchen, she quickly changed that to zip-up hoodie, denim skirt, and 3-inch heels.

“He’s never seen me not in heels!” she explained.

“Didn’t you go mini-golfing?”

“I wore stilettos!”

“You know he’s not going to call off the wedding just because he sees you in flats.”

“No, but–you’ll understand when you’re engaged.”

Well, maybe.

“Oh please,” scoffed NMF#20. “I wore makeup maybe twice when we were dating.”

“She doesn’t need it,” her husband offered from the couch.

“Oh gosh no,” disagreed another friend. “I don’t even take out the garbage until I’ve checked my makeup.”

Murmurs of agreement.

“You know,” I commented, “The story of Yaakov and Leah is actually an allegory for what every man feels when he sees his wife unenhanced for the first time.”

“Um, what?” called the one in the heels.

“So what are you supposed to do, be ugly on a date?” asked the friend in the makeup.

“No, but if he’s gone out with you a whole bunch of times, you can probably risk going natural,” pointed out she who doesn’t need makeup.

“Yeah, probably,” I agreed. I haven’t gone on a date without makeup in years. But hey. I agree. In theory.

6 thoughts on “The Unenhanced Date

  1. Beg pardon, but how is Yaakov discovering the wrong woman in his tent an allegory for seeing your wife unenhanced for the first time? Yaakov was expecting a whole different person, not an unenhanced version.

  2. Lol. I’ve been accused of not getting jokes, and I know that Bad4 was kidding, but I read a lot about the whole story last week, and it’s a very emotional and traumatic story for all parties, so my instinctive reaction was to point that out.

  3. My husband didn’t see me with makeup until the wedding, and when he saw me, he didn’t recognize me at first.
    At least the pictures came out nice and I didn’t look pale and awful. 🙂 He could’ve used some, too, though it would’ve come off right when he started crying [and therefore exactly when he needed it most].

    Everyone told me that he doesn’t want me to wear makeup because he doesn’t know what makeup looks like. They promised me that after the wedding my husband would realize that it’s really nice and start to like it. I wore makeup for the pictures. That was the only excuse that sounded normal.

    We came home and I said, “So, you like it? They said after you saw the makeup you would change your mind.”

    He said, “Very nice. Now please take it off and don’t do it again.” I was happy enough to comply.

    Haha.

Leave a Reply

