New Rule: Don’t Rely on Single Friends

I propose the 3-month rule for making plans with single friends. Beyond that, their priorities can get fuzzied by a gentleman caller who may have called more than the usual amount of times.

There was the time a few of us had loads of fun at the Rennaissance Faire, so we decided to go again next year. We all whipped out our phones and entered the appointment.

Well, within 9months one had gotten married and moved to Israel, and the other was married and in Connecticut.

Then there was the time I made a bet on a matter that could only be proven at the end of the year. Again, Friend and I marked it in our phones. But before I could win (or lose) the prized pie of pizza, the phone was lost down the drain and the owner had left to Israel, met a gentleman, married him, and moved to Houston.

So I probably shouldn’t have gotten excited about the idea of an annual kayaking trip with a NMF#17. Granted, you don’t often find nice Jewish girls willing to spend a week paddling down a river and camping in the woods. There is no reason to suppose that someone wouldn’t come along and snap up such a rare gem on sight. But I can’t help but feel a teeny drop let down about it.

When you get down to it, every single woman’s goal seems to be to get married. And she will prioritize that well above any of her other single friends. So, it’s important, when dealing with single friends, to never plan more than nine months out. This way, you will never get stood up, or jilted for a man.

8 thoughts on “New Rule: Don’t Rely on Single Friends

  1. Yeah, when dandeals had those $300 flights to Israel I called my friend and said let’s go December. He’s like I can’t plan a trip so far in the future because what if I’m engaged then? True he wasn’t dating anyone at the time, but it could happen.

    I was like seriously? You’re going to push off living because you may get engaged? So better to be miserable your whole single life for years and years. He eventually gave in to my logic.

  2. I guess I am pretty lucky that most of my newly married friends still make an effort to follow through on their commitments and make time to socialize with their single friends. It’s easy for newly-engaged or newly weds to make excuses, but it’s not like us single people don’t have busy schedules too.

Leave a Reply

